Revolution of Self

I recently had a birthday, and I have to say that for a couple of years, I’ve felt in the midst of a [midlife crisis] for lack of a better term. I’ve let important pieces of my identity fall off. Over the course of the past 2 years I became a writer who stopped writing, a music-lover who stopped listening to music, a health-minded self that neglected her body, an activist who sat this last election out.

It is time for a revolution.

Like all revolutions, this one is starting small (within myself), but it can’t be done alone. Thank goodness for a strong core of family and friends AND for an extended community of like-minded writers, music-lovers, fitness friends and activists to help me take the first steps.

My son Noel is home from college and has reawakened the music lover in me. I am lucky to have raised kids who not only enjoy my music but who also keep me current with their music. We’ve been listening and dancing to Chance the Rapper, Kendrick Lamar and Childish Gambino to name a few. Life is so much better with music.

My daughter, who is also home for winter break, has been helping me to center my mind and body along with Adriene and people all over the globe with the Yoga Revolution. We’ve  been starting our day at 5:30am11410443-0-yoga-revolution-soci to participate. Not only am I starting my day with one of my favorite people on the planet, I’m feeling stronger physically and emotionally. Namaste.

As for my activist self. I’m back, but I’ll save that for another post. Let’s just say that millions of women are with me!

The revolution is on. My revolution is on.

 

 

Revolution of Self

Leave a Reply

