Dr. Seuss is Dead- SOL16 Day 2

We’re celebrating Dr. Seuss’s birthday around here, wearing red and white, sharing book recommendations, acting goofy! Before becoming a literacy coach, I taught middle school. We celebrated this day with a Socratic seminar on The Sneetches. Not exactly a light-hearted topic! That said, I was far more comfortable in that realm than in the one I found myself today. It reminded me a tad of The Places You’ll Go!

A red-clad line of kindergartners made their way to lunch, and I said to a couple of stragglers, “Happy Dr. Seuss’s Birthday!”

The first became very serious, eyes wide and replied, “Dr. Seuss is dead today.”

Huh. How do you respond to that? Not quite sure, I simply said, “True, but we still celebrate his birthday!”

She proceeded to tell me about how her grandmother became ill in her lungs, and she’s dead too. Oh boy. The final girl in line quickly chimed in as they entered the lunch line, “Don’t worry, she’ll be back soon!”

Hoping the lunch line would be enough of a distraction, I quickly ducked out. I could see Girl #1 shaking her head, matter-of-factly.

Thank you, universe, for reminding me that I might feel a little more at ease in these early grades, but I definitely have a ways to go!

“And I know you’ll hike far and face up to your problems whatever they are. You’ll get mixed up, of course, as you already know. You’ll get mixed up with many strange birds as you go. So be sure when you step. Step with care and great tact and remember that Life’s a Great Balancing Act.” -Dr. Seuss

 

 

Dr. Seuss is Dead- SOL16 Day 2

6 thoughts on “Dr. Seuss is Dead- SOL16 Day 2

  1. Oh boy! Totally unexpected. I would have been blind-sided as well despite years of primary experience. Sometimes you’ve got to duck out when the ducking out is good!

    Like

  2. You reminded me of one of my first days teaching first grade! We were discussing fantasy and nonfiction. I started to say. “Think about the tooth fairy…” An aide in the back of the room is waving frantically at me, shaking her head NO! She saved my career! What was I thinking? I had been teaching third grade for ten years. Third graders are so grown up. Oh the places you’ll go!

    Like

  3. I chuckled how you wrote your reaction to the child’s “dead today” reply. Kids never cease to surprise and amaze me. Sounds to me like she was working through her understanding of some serious topics: what it means to be alive, dead, remembered and missed. Dr. Seuss is still teaching us!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

